Monday, April 13, 2009

New York City|2009|Day 4,5,6

Day 4. Woke up earlier than usual because our tour bus pass was ending at 10am and we had one more loop to do- the uptown loop. We didn’t get of the bus at all because we wouldn’t be able to get back on. Haha. We saw a lot of mansions and high apt/condo’s where celebrities live. Saw where John Lennon lived and got assassinated- right across the street was central park and Strawberry fields. We finished that tour and we started using the Subway which would honestly scare the shit out of people but I’ve mastered the subway system in Spain I think I can manage New York. So that was fun. Went back towards the Upper East Side where we had breakfast at the Clinton Street Bakery. Best breakfast! My mom had banana walnut pancakes while I had a egg and beacon biscuit sandwich with tomato jam. Both amazing! Oh yeah, had the best $3 small ass glass of fresh squeezed orange juice id had in my life. We walked that off pretty well that day. I stopped by TrackStar bike shop- not very welcoming people but whatever still a nice shop. Then a few blocks away was The Reed Space and I LOVED their store. Guys were really friendly. Bought a sick Staple Shirt for my bestfriend (that actually I love but he’ll look better in it) and a 10Deep shirt for my boyfriend. Cool guys to talk to very nice boutique store. I loved most the books on the wall sitting on mini chairs- that was cute. We walked on towards Soho/Canal St. and actually shopped there. Kinda hectic this day because we caught rain. Canal Street is like china town all these little shops that sell knock off purses and such. Was great! Haha. Bought myself a pair of Chanel earrings. Ya boyyy! Went to Grand Central Station because we’ve never seen it before- beautiful piece of history right there. The architecture is amazing! Cool how all the train tracks were right under us and you never see it if you were just on the streets. Good for me there was a BMW car art show right inside the station- nice cars with nice art on it…that’s the best combination ever. We walked from there to our hotel because we got kinda lost. Haha. But ended up eating at this BBQ house that was pretty good so I’m glad we got lost. Stopped by Juniors to pick up a slice of Red Velvet cake- again the size of your head and ended my day on a sweet note.
clinton st. bakery.

trakstar

reedspace

chanel earrings..holllarrr

Grand Central Station




Day 5 Thursday. Thought today would be a pretty chill day. WRONG. We walked up a storm! Went to Macy’s. NYC Macy’s = HEAVEN! It’s a whole block big and 9 stories high. 9 STORIES! You can get a tourist shopping pass that gives you 11% off of pretty much everything. Did a lot of shopping there. Few blocks away was B&H Video and Photography. Of course I had to stop by and see what that place was like. That place was astonishing…yes I said astonishing. Their photography section is wall to wall of cameras, lenses, accessories. Then you purchase it, they order it from the back, and the come to the teller in a box, on a roller. I don’t know how else to explain it. To pay for it you go downstairs and stand in line. Then they send you to a separate line where they receive your box of stuff and they bag it and give it to you. It was like a factory assembly line in there. I bought a 50mm lens…finally. We walked back to our hotel to dropped off all of our bags. On the way we stopped by White Castle to eat mini burgers of goodness. Headed out again towards Lower West side. My mom wanted to go to Sac’s to buy a purse and so I left the Subway routes up to her since I thought she knew where she wanted to go. We ended up back by Bloomingdales…a good 13 blocks away. Our feet hurt but we didn’t want to pay for subway fare again so we walked it. If she didn’t buy her lovely LV purse I would have been pissed haha. From there we walked to Seredipity and she enjoyed a Fruite Crepe and I had the infamous Frozzzen Hot Chocolate. That was good. Took the subway back to our hotel. Got ready and went less then a block away to the Minskoff Theater to watch…THE LION KING! Really good Broadway shdw! Costumes and back drops are way better then anything I have ever seen. If you get a change to watch it…do it! Didn’t have dinner this night because I think we were just tired. A Broadway show was a good way to end our trip to NYC.
B&H Photography

Macy's Old School escalators

Serendipity..yum!

my favorite line: "The Word was Serendipity. The art of finding the pleasantly unexpected by chance or sagacity."

Friday- before we left. Went and had breakfast at Juniors. Then our shuttle picked us up and brought us back to JFK. By this time I was so happy to be going home. As beautiful it is to be in another state, I love California! I love the weather, I love the life style and I even love the people. I’m serious. True New Yorkers always seem to rushed and stressed out its sad to watch. I can never live like that. I’m sure not all NYorkers are like that but a few that I’ve seen and heard talk I just want to tell them to relax. We had this one guy behind us in the security line at the airport who was seriously pissed that there was only 1 line open because of shift changes, He was seriously getting pissed off and saying like he never has to stand in line, He kept asking every worker hat passed him by why other lines weren’t open. He was complining and saying “Time is Money, I have some where to be!” I’m pretty damn sure his flight wasn’t leaving yet and seriously we’re at an airport…we ALL have somewhere to be! Then when they opened another line, he got out of our line and walked around quickly…when if he just waited like 2 seconds they opened the ropes in front of us and we still ended up in front of him in line…haha, sucker!

and thats my trip! post trip thoughts will probably put up soon. heres all the pictures...
PART 1
PART 2

jenyo|jenetics

No comments:

About Me

My photo
they call me jenyo. j3n17yO@yahoo.com